Stuart 10V Build Log – Complete Beginner…

Advert

Stuart 10V Build Log – Complete Beginner…

Home Forums Work In Progress and completed items Stuart 10V Build Log – Complete Beginner…

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 385 total)
  • Author
    Dr_GMJN
    Participant
      @dr_gmjn

Hello All.

I am a complete novice, so this will not be a step-by-step account of building a Stuart 10V; there are plently of books, threads and videos out there already. I hope that what I post will promp some much needed advice. I will make mistakes, but I will get there in the end.

This is the begining of what will inevitably be a long journey for me. I have a Myford ML7 which I restored about 12 years ago, but have only done simple jobs with it. I bought an SX2P mini mill last Septemebr, and have mildy tweaked it with some common upgrades over the past few weeks. I am in the process of making some vice clamps for it – the first things I've ever milled (not counting some workshop practice at university many years ago).

I have always liked scale model building, and steam engines, so I bought this kit at the Doncaster show last year, and vowed to make a start within a year. Today was the anniversary of getting the kit, so I made a start.

Despite getting excellent advice over the past few days from the "Beginners" section on here, I’m still not confident enough to use the milling machine on a casting; I want to try different tooling and techniques first, on the remaining two vice clamps.

Anyway, first job was cleaning up the box base and sole plate casting using files, and abrasive paper on a surface plate:

I don’t have a vernier height gauge, so I did a quick check with a height scriber and my digital callipers:

The box bed seemed pretty much spot on, so just needs a few clean-up passes. The sole plate had an approx. 0.3mm high spot at one end, but that will disappear when it’s machined to the correct height.