Help me choose a lathe to suit my hobby

Advert

Help me choose a lathe to suit my hobby

Home Forums Manual machine tools Help me choose a lathe to suit my hobby

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 87 total)
  • Author
    Microbike
    Participant
      @microbike

I have been researching the right lathe for the past 18 months and I find it very disheartening – it is as though no one makes a reasonably priced, accurate mini lathe

First some information for you

What I know – beginner level

I did fitting and turning during my apprenticeship as a mechatnic so I know the basics, but that was some time ago and I am out of practice. I have read "the mini lathe" by David Fenner and understood it all okay and felt I could make most of the projects. Similarly I am reading "Lathework a complete course" and find I understand it all okay and could make nearly all of the projects

I am comfortable reading technical drawings and I am comfortable around the workshop but I would still class myself as a beginner but I think it will come back to me quickly

Next my hobby

I did introduce myself in the introduce yourself forum – see this thread – Model motorcycles in 1/6 scale

But here is the basics of my hobby

I build 1/6 scale motorcycles which are quite detailed. I use the plastic model as a base and then add additional detail such as tiny bolts, scale wiring and other such detail. I have reached the limits of the hobby as I do it now so I would like, to take it to the next level and make my own more detailed parts. For example a plastic moulded chain – looks like – well – a plastic moulded chain. I have tracked down real roller chain with a pitch of 3.2mm so it's prefect for 1/6 scale bikes – the problem now is that I need to make my own sprockets that will be scale replicas of the real bike