Bogus “Subscription Expired” email?

Bogus “Subscription Expired” email?

Home Forums General Questions Bogus “Subscription Expired” email?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #129176
    Phillip Allen
    Participant
      @phillipallen34597

      Hello,

      I received, this evening, a very official and genuine looking email from MyTimeMedia Ltd <[email protected]> saying my subscription has expired, even though it does not until next March. All the hyperlinks in the email point to http://clicks.cdsglobal-live.com/email/S-74293@547344@OKpkr83O1uVhsXTgPcKDMDf5VNY0-wvytZP5 … (abbreviated).

      If it wasn't for the incorrect claim, I would have taken it for real. Has anyone else received one of these? Do not click the links, just in case!

      Regards,

      Phillip

      #22819
      Phillip Allen
      Participant
        @phillipallen34597
        #129185
        Russell Eberhardt
        Participant
          @russelleberhardt48058

          I have had one the same but I had ignored it as I don't intend to renew.

          I think it is genuine, just a very strange way of doing things. If you click on the links they do take you to the right places.

          Russell.

          #129192
          Katherine Scott 6
          Participant
            @katherinescott6

            Hi Phillip,

            Thanks for flagging this up, however this is a genuine email – I have checked your account details and your subscription is due for renewal in Nov (the December issue is your last one). If you would like any further details on your subscription you can access this information via http://www.subscription.co.uk/help/MyTimeMedia or if you prefer you can speak to one of our customer service people on 0844 543 8200.

            Thank you again for making us aware of your concerns, I hope that you will continue to enjoy the magazine.

            Best wishes,

            Kate

            #129193
            OuBallie
            Participant
              @ouballie

              Any address that has the word 'click/s' in it I bin straight away.

              Rant/

              It's time companies woke up to the fact that hackers/criminals operate like this, to suck the unweary/unsuspecting amongst us into clicking the link.

              Why don't they have a direct link, instead of this kind of BS?

              /Rant

              Geoff – Finished uploading photos.

              Edited By OuBallie on 10/09/2013 16:50:49

              #129199
              Bazyle
              Participant
                @bazyle

                A good way of reassuring people would be to link into the mail the unique number that is put on the mailing labels – only work for hardcopy subs of course.

              Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
              • Please log in to reply to this topic. Registering is free and easy using the links on the menu at the top of this page.

              Latest Replies

              Home Forums General Questions Topics

              Viewing 25 topics - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
              Viewing 25 topics - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)

              View full reply list.