This made me smile

Advert

This made me smile

Home Forums Hints And Tips for model engineers This made me smile

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    BERT ASHTON
    Participant
      @bertashton57372

001.jpg

Advert
      BERT ASHTON
      Participant
        @bertashton57372
        Thor 🇳🇴
        Participant
          @thor

yes

Hopper
          Participant
            @hopper

Reminds me of when I was a hospital maintenance engineer. High impedance air gap was the number one cause of electric beds not working in patient rooms. Wish I had thought of that terminology when filling out the "Action Taken" section of the work order.

Nicholas Farr
            Participant
              @nicholasfarr14254

Hi, very good.

ega
              Participant
                @ega

The other euphemism for "hitting it with a big hammer" was "shock loading".

SillyOldDuffer
                  @sillyoldduffer

Lots of similar jokes in computer-land.

In order of reliability: hardware, software, and wetware. As ordinary folk are famously gormless wetware, they're politely called 'Users'. Only those in the trade know this is spelt 'Lusers', the 'L' being silent…

devil

John Doe 2
                  Participant
                    @johndoe2
                    Posted by ega on 30/11/2022 10:55:08:

The other euphemism for "hitting it with a big hammer" was "shock loading".

Or 'Percussive maintenance' !

A euphemism for 'a big hammer' is 'the number one persuader'.

ega
                    Participant
                      @ega

Or the Birmingham screwdriver.

duncan webster 1
                      Participant
                        @duncanwebster1

Hammer = manually deployed impact press

Swarf, Mostly!
                        Participant
                          @swarfmostly

A colleague of mine used to reckon that 'preventative maintenance' was taking the equipment apart every 2000 hours to find out why it was still working!

Best regards,