Tom Senior Milling machine running problems

Advert

Tom Senior Milling machine running problems

Home Forums Beginners questions Tom Senior Milling machine running problems

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Paul Radford
    Participant
      @paulradford79614

Hello again! I’m relatively new to this after getting a Tom Senior M1 milling machine this year. About a month ago it stopped running and thought it was the starter switch. Had an electrician out who said the Transwave converter was faulty. I bought a new static converter and had a new starter switch fitted. It ran for 10 mins then burnt the starter switch out. I swapped the converter for a rotary one as was told they’re more reliable. Had another starter switch fitted. It ran for about an hour and burnt the starter switch again! It’s got a 1hp motor (1.6amp) and the rotary converter is 2.2. The thermal overload in the starter has been changed to 1.6-2.5 amps. Any ideas what’s going on here please? The electrician has said we could fit a rotary isolator to see if this helps. I’m cautious with electrics because it’s not something I know much about and obviously want a machine that runs but safely too! Thanks Paul

Advert
      Chris Crew
      Participant
        @chriscrew66644