‘Stent’ T&C Grinder Queries

Advert

‘Stent’ T&C Grinder Queries

Home Forums Manual machine tools ‘Stent’ T&C Grinder Queries

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Nigel Graham 2
    Participant
      @nigelgraham2

I am presently engaged in completing a ‘Stent’ Tool-&-Cutter Grinder and have been preparing some new detail-drawings from the Blackgates-published drawings. I do not have any original text for this project – I bought it unfinished from a club-member who’d decided to go all-carbide. (Wealthy ‘erbert!)

In preparing some decimal copies of the remaining details, the more I studied my now-fragile, yellowing copies the more puzzled I became.

Quite a lot of these machines have been built, successfully too, and I have a copy of Model Engineer’s Workshop ((No. 108, Aug/Sep 2005) that shows a basic but major improvement by putting the wheel inboard of the column, nearer the table centre.

Nevertheless, parts of the General Arrangement drawings are vague and there seem some peculiar things about the design!

Has anyone built or bought one of these machines so can help me, please?

1) The Bearing Housing is designed as 3.00″ wide and hangs by a single 3/8″ diameter stud on a slide that is a full 3/8″ wider.

The stud is well above the axis of the spindle so tilting the unit even a few degrees would move the highest and lowest points of the wheel considerably both horizontally and vertically. There is no degree-scale as is specified on other parts.

There is no positive lock, second stud, rebate, dowel or other means either to set the assembly to tilt angle or to keep it horizontal.

Why the different widths?

Is the angle of the spindle designed to be adjustable out of horizontal, or not? I am not sure why it might, except perhaps for sharpening taps and reamers, but the plans do not suggest any such feature deliberately.