Fobco thread sizes

Advert

Fobco thread sizes

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Astroboy
    Participant
      @111122223354

I have aquired, cleaned and changed the bearings on an old neglected Fobco Star pillar and am having problems with thread sizes.

I am missing the knurled top bolts that hold the belt cover in place and am looking for a suitable replacement, unfortunately I am a wood butcher and a total noob on thread sizes. Also the grease nipples seem to be a strange pitch?(Pipe thread?).

Any help would be very(very) much appreciated.

If anyone happens to have these spare I would be very interested.

Also is there anywhere the locking handles can be sourced?

TIA Jamie.

Advert
      Howard Lewis
      Participant
        @howardlewis46836

Fobco is probnably a British supplier, so think in terms of Imperial sizes, not Metric.

First thing is to measure the OD of the stud, probably 5/16″ at a wild uneducated guess.

If you are a woodworker, you are unlikely to have thread gauges, so must do a bit of “suck it and see”

Try to count the threads over, ideally, an inch, but may have to be less.

Another WILD guess, that the threads will be

1/4″ BSF will be 26 t p i

5/16″ BSF will be 22 tpi

3/8″ BSF will be 20 tpi.

If the threads look to be coarser than these, they may be BSW, in which case

1/4″ BSW will be 20 t p i

5/16″ BSW will be 18 tpi

3/8″ BSW will be 16 tpi.

Knowing what the diameter is, and the pitch of the thread, if you can get a nut of that size and thread, try running down the thread.  Whit or BSF may be hard to find, and expensive.

You might find UNF or UNC at places like Halfords, but probably at a price for just a couple!

It is possible that threads might be Unified, in which case UNF nuts might be easier to come by to try as a gauge.

1/4 UNF will be 28 t p i

5/16″ UNF will be 24 tpi

3/8″ UNF will be 24 tpi.

If UNC

1/4 UNC will be 20 t p i

5/16″ UNC will be 18 tpi

3/8″ UNF will be 16 tpi.