Concrete Sleepers for 7-1/4″

Advert

Concrete Sleepers for 7-1/4″

Home Forums Materials Concrete Sleepers for 7-1/4″

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Gerald Weare
    Participant
      @geraldweare85524

I have a vague memory of seeing a fairly recent ME article on making sleepers from concrete/cement, but I’m darned if I can find it.  Does any one have a reference they can give me?  Failing that, any experience with concrete sleepers that you’d care to share would be appreciated.

Note: this is specifically about a ground-level 7-1/4″ track.  There is a decent amount of stuff on the web about standard gauge, but things don’t always scale…

Thanks!

Advert
      Pete
      Participant
        @pete41194

I’ve no hands on experience with 7 1/4″ gauge or any railway sleepers, but fwiw. I’ve broken and loaded trucks with multiple thousands of tons of both concrete road surfaces and sidewalks. Concrete is extremely strong in compression as long as it’s fully supported on a highly compacted crushed rock base material. It’s also easily broken in tension such as having any voids under it in that rail bed and then having heavy locomotives crossing above any unsupported areas. It’s a quite brittle material in it’s cured state, and in the right conditions easy to break. Adding steel as reinforcement and then cast the concrete around it would help a lot.