TEST THREAD

Advert

TEST THREAD

Viewing 25 posts - 51 through 75 (of 131 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #298328
    peak4
    Participant
      @peak4

      Title1

      Title2

      Title3

      Title4

      Centre justified

      Centre justified

      Centre justified

      Centre justified

      RHS

      RHS

      RHS

      RHS

       

      Well that seemed to work as a pasted table from Word, using the "Paste from Word" radio button at the top.

      Preserves the three different justifications as well, at least in the preview, shame the table is too wide on the submitted post.

      Title1

      Title2

      Title3

      Title4

      Centre justified

      Centre justified

      Centre justified

      Centre justified

      RHS

      RHS

      RHS

      RHS

      1.0 cm column width

      a

      b

      c

      d

      1

      2

      3

      4

      +

      *

      =

       

      5cm Table width

      a

      b

      c

      d

      1

      2

      3

      4

      +

      *

      =

       

      15cm table width

      a

      b

      c

      d

      1

      2

      3

      4

      +

      *

      =

       

      14cm table width

      a

      b

      c

      d

      1

      2

      3

      4

      +

      *

      =

      Looks like you need to specify the table width rather than the column width

      Edited By peak4 on 15/05/2017 22:00:54

      Advert
      #316474
      JasonB
      Moderator
        @jasonb

        Just testing imgur

        Edited By JasonB on 11/09/2017 10:25:14

        #316723
        Tony Dimnick
        Participant
          @tonydimnick84271

          newbie here!! TEST

          #316758
          Neil Wyatt
          Moderator
            @neilwyatt
            Posted by Tony Dimnick on 12/09/2017 17:06:16:

            newbie here!! TEST

            Lucky to get that past the mods! Almost as good as 'I am not a spammer'.

            Neil

            #316832
            Tony Dimnick
            Participant
              @tonydimnick84271

              Hello Niel!

              I've been reading topics and comment here. This forum is awesome! Thanks for accepting.

              #316845
              colin brannigan
              Participant
                @colinbrannigan54160

                I failed to post a photo so will go to the shed…………………sad

                Colin

                Edited By colin brannigan on 13/09/2017 16:37:54

                #325455
                SillyOldDuffer
                Moderator
                  @sillyoldduffer

                  Testing embedded code to see if indentation is honoured

                   

                  #include
                  #include
                  #include
                  #include "getword.h"

                  #define MAXWORD 128

                  typedef struct bintree
                  {
                    struct bintree *lower;
                    struct bintree *higher;
                    char *word;
                    int count;
                  } Node;

                  //typedef struct bintree Node;

                  Node* addNode( char* word, Node *tree );
                  void printTree( Node* tree );

                   

                  int main(int argc, char *argv[])
                  {
                    char word[MAXWORD];

                    Node *first = NULL;

                    while (getword(word, MAXWORD) != EOF)
                    {
                      first = addNode( word, first );
                    }
                    printTree( first );
                    exit(0);
                  }

                  Node* addNode( char* word, Node *tree )
                  {
                    if ( tree == NULL )
                    {
                      tree = ( Node *) malloc ( sizeof tree );
                      tree->word = strdup( word );
                      tree->count = 1;
                      tree->higher = tree->lower = NULL;
                      return tree;
                    }
                    else
                    {
                      if ( strcmp(word, tree->word) == 0 )
                      {
                        tree->count++;
                        return tree;
                      }
                    }

                    if ( strcmp(word, tree->word) > 0 )
                    {
                      tree->higher = addNode( word, tree->higher );
                    }
                    else
                    {
                      tree->lower = addNode( word, tree->lower );
                    }

                    return tree;
                  }

                   

                   

                  Back to normal?

                  Comment :  Success, but not straightforward.  It appears that the forum editor honours embedded HTML tags indirectly via the edit button.  Note font changes to non-proporttional

                  Edited By SillyOldDuffer on 04/11/2017 19:48:30

                  Edited By SillyOldDuffer on 04/11/2017 19:49:24

                  Edited By SillyOldDuffer on 04/11/2017 19:51:39

                  Edited By SillyOldDuffer on 04/11/2017 19:56:35

                  #325457
                  SillyOldDuffer
                  Moderator
                    @sillyoldduffer

                    This time using Plain

                    One two three

                       FOUR
                          five

                              six

                     

                    Normal

                    Comment.  PLAIN works too.  

                    Edited By SillyOldDuffer on 04/11/2017 19:54:20

                    Edited By SillyOldDuffer on 04/11/2017 19:55:25

                    #342176
                    Brian Sweeting 2
                    Participant
                      @briansweeting2

                      Just a forum date test post.

                      #356319
                      Neil van Zyl
                      Participant
                        @neilvanzyl

                        Another new member that needs to post something in order to see the contact details on an ad.

                        #360772
                        Neil Wyatt
                        Moderator
                          @neilwyatt

                          :dark1:

                          #360773
                          Neil Wyatt
                          Moderator
                            @neilwyatt

                            Good grief! That worked…

                            #370026
                            peak4
                            Participant
                              @peak4
                              Still Reasonably Tidy

                              Finally one that works, been trying to work out how to add a link or embed a flickr photo.

                              For the one above, navigate to your flickr album, click "Share" and copy the "embed" code.

                              Place into your forum post by using the "embed media" icon; the one next to Youtube.

                              Edited By peak4 on 02/09/2018 12:23:25

                              #376809
                              Michael Gilligan
                              Participant
                                @michaelgilligan61133

                                Having just been enlightened by Neil's mention of the 'remove formatting icon' …

                                I am hoping to kill a smiley:

                                Nope … doesn't work

                                The damned things are invicible !

                                 … This one was inserted using the Plain Text icon !!!

                                 

                                Edited By Michael Gilligan on 20/10/2018 16:46:24

                                Edited By Michael Gilligan on 20/10/2018 16:52:00

                                Edited By Michael Gilligan on 20/10/2018 16:53:49

                                #381073
                                Douglas Butler 1
                                Participant
                                  @douglasbutler1

                                  Hi Guys,

                                  This is just a test posting. am completing a part-built Plastow Burrell 4 1/2" at a positively glacial speed tackling the spoking of the rear wheels…..

                                  #387434
                                  John Kingston
                                  Participant
                                    @johnkingston58595

                                    how do I gain access to the classifieds info

                                    #387630
                                    Ian S C
                                    Participant
                                      @iansc

                                      Usually after you have joined in with some postings in the forum, maybe a question, or suggestion about some topic you have interest in. I think the idea is to have new members with interest in one or more of the subjects on the forum. Welcome aboard John. PS one of the moderators will probably pick up on this and tell you the real story.

                                      Ian S C

                                      #387676
                                      Neil Wyatt
                                      Moderator
                                        @neilwyatt
                                        Posted by John Kingston on 24/12/2018 13:50:25:

                                        how do I gain access to the classifieds info

                                        I takes a few postings which need to be approved by moderators who were a bit distracted recently

                                        #441796
                                        peak4
                                        Participant
                                          @peak4

                                          A test from another thread

                                          5130-12-145-6396 to see if it changes to skype

                                          nsn 5130-12-145-6396

                                          Well that seemed to work OK, using Opera on W10, but I don't have Skype as a browser plugin

                                           

                                          Edited By peak4 on 15/12/2019 21:12:53

                                          #441801
                                          Michael Gilligan
                                          Participant
                                            @michaelgilligan61133
                                            Posted by peak4 on 15/12/2019 21:08:51:

                                            A test from another thread

                                            5130-12-145-6396 to see if it changes to skype

                                            nsn 5130-12-145-6396

                                            Well that seemed to work OK, using Opera on W10, but I don't have Skype as a browser plugin

                                            .

                                            Now see if you can edit it back to plain text, Bill

                                            MichaelG.

                                            #441802
                                            Gray62
                                            Participant
                                              @gray62
                                              Posted by Michael Gilligan on 15/12/2019 21:26:12:

                                              Posted by peak4 on 15/12/2019 21:08:51:

                                              A test from another thread

                                              5130-12-145-6396 to see if it changes to skype

                                              nsn 5130-12-145-6396

                                              Well that seemed to work OK, using Opera on W10, but I don't have Skype as a browser plugin

                                              .

                                              Now see if you can edit it back to plain text, Bill

                                              MichaelG.

                                              5130-12-145-6396

                                              I just copied then pasted as plain text, using Chrome on a Mac, OS Mojave. I use Skype all the time, never come across this type of issue before, odd behaviour.

                                              Gray

                                              Edited By Gray on 15/12/2019 22:31:11

                                              #441825
                                              peak4
                                              Participant
                                                @peak4

                                                Right just been having a quick play; I don't know how Michael managed to convert the plain text in my previous post to Skype hyperlinks when he quoted it, or even if it was intentional.

                                                All the following is using Opera on W10; both at latest builds.

                                                Highlighting the blue hyperlink, on Michael's quote, then Control-C to copy and Control-V to paste gives the following 5130-12-145-6396 again reproducing a hyperlink as expected.

                                                Highlighting the same hyperlink and using the immediately appearing context menu to copy, followed by Control-V gives the same reproduced hyperlink 5130-12-145-6396

                                                N.B. Right Click "Copy", followed by Right Click "Paste", throws up an error.
                                                (I'll hopefully come back to illustrate that in a moment after posting this, as the error locks up this posting/editing window.)

                                                Right Click "Copy Link Address" then Control -V gives this in plain text, which explains what's behind the link. tel:5130-12-145-6396

                                                Somehow "tel:" has been previously added between my original post and Michael's quote of it.

                                                Right Click Link address, (from Michael's quote of my post), and Right Click Paste, again throws up the error message.

                                                #441826
                                                peak4
                                                Participant
                                                  @peak4

                                                  Having now check that what I typed is what has been displayed.

                                                  I tried to copy the hyperlink and right click paste, as mentioned above.

                                                  I receive the following error message, which I've had to type in manually as I couldn't copy it.

                                                  "Press Ctrl-V to paste. Your browser doesn't support pasting with the toolbar button or context menu option."

                                                  This is followed by a blue underlined X, which appears to be a hyperlink

                                                  The error message and blue X only show for a few seconds and then time out and vanish, so it doesn't actually lock up the window as I previously thought. The error does however appear over the first couple of lines of text in the posting window, which means that you can't read it; it's on a clear background, so superimposed itself on the previously typed text, making both ones own typing, and the error message illegible.

                                                  edit Further text added.

                                                  Next "Right Click" on the Blue X in the error message and "Copy Link Address"

                                                  Right click "Paste" just throws up the same error message, however Control-v gives  javascript:void(0)

                                                  Edited By peak4 on 16/12/2019 10:35:14

                                                  #441828
                                                  Michael Gilligan
                                                  Participant
                                                    @michaelgilligan61133
                                                    Posted by peak4 on 16/12/2019 10:23:16:

                                                    Right just been having a quick play; I don't know how Michael managed to convert the plain text in my previous post to Skype hyperlinks when he quoted it, or even if it was intentional.

                                                    […]

                                                    .

                                                    For the avoidance of doubt, Bill … Michael did nothing to your previous post, it was [and is] displayed on my screen with hyperlinks.

                                                    MichaelG.

                                                    .

                                                    e008d421-5ab1-466d-a6de-5730afb3524a.jpeg

                                                    .

                                                    .

                                                    Edited By Michael Gilligan on 16/12/2019 11:15:27

                                                    #441834
                                                    peak4
                                                    Participant
                                                      @peak4

                                                      Wow, that is weird, Perhaps clumsily worded; I'd really meant Michael's computer doing odd things. smiley

                                                      I'm guessing it's something to do with your browser, or a plug-in. What I posted, and the way it's displayed is different at my end, (and presumably for most others on the forum), to what shows on your screen.

                                                      Some of what I typed is hyperlinks, as seemingly generated at your end, some is plain text, which seems to have been converted by your PC to a hyperlink.
                                                      I can well understand why my words, as seen on the page, by you must be confusing.

                                                      In particular, see my comments on the third screenshot, relating to the insertion of tel: thus converting it to a hyperlink. I suspect it's something in your browser/PC, rather than the forum software, unless your system has hidden control characters, which are subsequently interpreted by the forum software

                                                      What browser are you using? I'm on Opera for normal use, but also have Firefox, Chrome, Avast Secure Browser, and Maxathon. I also use Pale Moon on the other PC sometimes.
                                                      I'll try opening this thread on them in a bit, but off out to work on the Disco whilst the sun's out.

                                                      Here you go;

                                                      capture-a.jpg

                                                      capture- 1.jpg

                                                      capture-2.jpg

                                                      capture-3.jpg

                                                       

                                                       

                                                      Edited By peak4 on 16/12/2019 11:37:11

                                                    Viewing 25 posts - 51 through 75 (of 131 total)
                                                    • Please log in to reply to this topic. Registering is free and easy using the links on the menu at the top of this page.

                                                    Advert

                                                    Latest Replies

                                                    Viewing 25 topics - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
                                                    Viewing 25 topics - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)

                                                    View full reply list.

                                                    Advert