Power feed for a VM32L mill

Advert

Power feed for a VM32L mill

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    Iain Downs
    Participant
      @iaindowns78295

Hi, there.

I recently took delivery of what for me is a BIG mill. VM32L which is pretty much the same size as WM18. Whilst, I love the size of the table and being able to have a couple of areas on it, it's quickly become obvious that a Y axis power feed would make life much easier. So I'm going to make one. But I need some help!

As a background, I've already built a CNC system for my (much much) smaller CMD10 mill. Even to the point of writing my own CNC driver and controller (I'm a software keep by profession even if demoted to just talking to people in my old age).

What I have in mind is to build the electronics (arduino) with 3 axis in mind, but only one motor for now. I have some TB6600 drivers a 24V 20A supply and a bunch or arduinos. I expect I will control it from an old android tablet with a Xamarin program. So arduino (Iain's Code) to drive the driver and a simple app to pick speed and stuff on the tablet.

So what am I missing? I thought this would be a decent motor. I think it's overkill but it's not much more expensive than a smaller one and maybe the Z would need it.

I'm thinking that I either want to have a clutch which can disconnect the motor from the leadscrew when I want to be manual, or to have a relay or similar which can disconnect power to the motor. In this case I would arrange it so that when the power was turned off, the relay would disconnect the connections to the motor (after a second or so).

I kind of prefer the mechanical approach, but have no idea how to go about it. I'm thinking some kind of clutch, I'm thinking something with splines. I'm thinking it sounds very complex and hard to make. I'm thinking I could do with some advice!