Forum sponsored by Allendale Jan 24th

Absolute beginner, just bought a cheap lathe

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Chris Drew19/09/2021 16:43:27
6 forum posts
1 photos

Hi All,

completely new to engineering of any kind but always wanted to have a go so I recently bought a Hobbymat MD65 lathe just to have a play and see what I could make. Unfortunately being new and the seller not being up front I have just found out that the cross slide is broken, the captive nuts holding the tool post have pulled out rendering the lathe pretty useless. I want to try and fix this as my first job and was wondering if anyone else uses this kind of lathe and has had a similar problem? If so are there any fixes other than trying to find a replacement? Thanks for any suggestions!

Chris Evans 619/09/2021 20:03:13
1978 forum posts

I know nothing about your model of lathe but an approximate location my help, there my be a forum member close by.

Grotto19/09/2021 20:43:08
148 forum posts
89 photos

Hi Chris,

There seem to be a few owners of MD65's on here so I'm sure you'll get some help. If you add a photo of the offending part(s) it would be good.

I’m just wondering if it's the cross slide which is faulty or the top slide (which is what tool post bolts to). I may have my terminology mixed up as I no expert.

If it is the top slide, you could just remove it and mount the tool post on the cross slide.

I've done that with my lathe, I just have a spacer under the tool post. I only ever use the top slide for cutting tapers and threads larger then about 1.5mm pitch.

Chris Drew19/09/2021 21:06:02
6 forum posts
1 photos