Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale Jan 24th

Kennedy Hexacut

Absolute newbie

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Mark Jones 1105/08/2021 14:01:41
5 forum posts

Hello - Very first posting from a thirty minute old new member...apologies if I have missed the answer to this in my search of the forums, but does anyone know of a perfect fit replacement motor for a Newman motor fitted to a Kennedy Hexacut?

The Newman in question is an F67855 single phase rated at 0.18kW and running at 1425 rpm/, and apparently the centrifugal switch has failed, thus burning out the auxiliary windings in the stator. Repair costs are eye-watering.

My facilities (and skills!) are very limited, so the mounting hole positions, shaft diameter etc. of any replacement need to be exactly as original.

Apologies again if I have missed an answer somewhere, but does anyone have any ideas?

Dave Halford05/08/2021 14:31:49
1746 forum posts
19 photos

measure the motor mount bolt positions and shaft size, imperial sizes are here, but you are restricted to new and therefore metric 1/4hp gets you D71 here

More Kennedy info here you will see your does not have the original motor.

Mark Jones 1105/08/2021 15:45:34
5 forum posts

Hello Dave -

Third attempt at replying to you via this posting method - keeps 'erasing' me!

Afraid I am lost with the two downloads that I tried. Both seem to be in imperial and I can find no correlation between my frame number (B204S) and the listings.

The mounting hole centres are 2 7/8" apart (ie 1 7/16" ether side of the shaft centreline) and the longitudinal distance is 1" with a shaft diameter of 5/8".

Don't want you to do all my work for me, but can you shed any more light on the direction I should take?

Best....Mark

peak405/08/2021 17:05:55
1499 forum posts
162 photos

Mark, The manuals etc are available HERE
https://raynerd.co.uk/kennedy-power-hacksaw-manual-and-files/