By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Hello everyone!

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
James Perry 127/06/2021 17:25:28
2 forum posts

Hi all, I'm James from Sheffield. I'm just getting started with metalworking. I've wanted to get myself an engineers lathe for the past 5 years and am just about to bite the bullet. Wish me luck!

John Hinkley27/06/2021 18:34:49
1306 forum posts
424 photos

Welcome, James, from just up the M18 near Doncaster. Doubtless you'll have some questions, so ask and ye shall find! We're a friendly bunch on here for the most part.

John

Steviegtr27/06/2021 18:45:13
2422 forum posts
336 photos

Welcome James.

Steve.

Brian H27/06/2021 18:45:52
2312 forum posts
112 photos

Hello James and welcome from just down the M1 near Mansfield. What sort of projects are you hoping to tackle with a Lathe?

Whatever it is you will find people on here who will be only too happy to offer help and advice you have but to ask.

Brian

noel shelley27/06/2021 19:22:25
1284 forum posts
21 photos

welcome to the party James, I'm in N Norfolk. What sort of lathe are you after ? Noel.

Howard Lewis28/06/2021 10:38:46
6024 forum posts
14 photos

Welcome James!

Before you part with cash, may I suggest:

Decide to what use the lathe will be put. Then buy one a little larger, to accommodate your horizons when thet expand; as they surely will.

You can't turn a big flywheel on a baby lathe, but you don't to make parts for watches on a 12" swing lathe.

You can do small work on a big lathe, but the opposite can be more difficult!

Read up on using a lathe. It will save you frustrations and problems, and help you when you ask questions about a difficulty. If you phrase the question badly, you won't get the answer that you need.