Forum sponsored by Allendale Jan 24th

Just picked up my first mill

Yup its a round column i

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
drum maker24/04/2021 13:10:55
27 forum posts
3 photos

2ceb40d9-f882-43c2-87ca-b9820fe264bf.jpegJust collected my first milling machine, yup it’s a round column mill/drill, was told it was a Chester, buts actually the warco version a Zx-15

I know round column are not a fave of many, but i think I got a fair deal, I’m no model engineer but It will come in handy in my wood workshop.

had to break it down to get it back to my workshop, but it’s pristine, the guy bought it new 16 years ago and then never used it, it’s never made a cut, was wrapped up in its original plastic and still covered in quite a bit of the protective gunk, just sat in an outhouse.... got loads of extras with it, just no cutters. Can’t wait to get it built back up.

2b764c4a-0d8e-4082-9637-e7a687d2d03c.jpeg

d8588c5f-8a85-42db-b38b-75068aa470be.jpeg

old mart24/04/2021 13:43:32
3487 forum posts
213 photos

We have a large round column mill at the museum, and as it is larger 500mm X travel and more Z and Y than the refurbished Tom Senior, it is definitely staying. You have to carefully plan jobs when using one as raising the column halfway through can be a bother. I have fitted a laser sight to the right side of the head which reflects off a window back and helps to get things within 0.002". I may change the sight for something with a better focussed beam some time.

Dave Halford24/04/2021 13:52:08
1879 forum posts
22 photos

Don't forget to treat it to a milling cutter chuck, they are only supplied with a drill chuck from new.

drum maker24/04/2021 14:16:47
27 forum posts
3 photos
Posted by old mart on 24/04/2021 13:43:32: