Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale July 23rd

Strange Myford Motor Fault

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Neil Bennett 319/03/2019 15:27:07
3 forum posts

Hello,

My recently acquired Myford Super 7 is fitted with a MEZ motor, permanent capacitor (10µF 500 volts), 1/3 HP, 1400 rpm, with a Dewhurst reversing switch, which was all working fine until the other day. Now, drilling from the tailstock a 3 mm. hole in brass stalls the motor. The capacitor has been replaced, the Dewhurst contacts all cleaned up, and the wiring checked. The motor windings resistances measure 15 ohms (U1-U2) and 50 ohms (Z1-Z2). The problem is not due to belt slip, the motor itself stalls, stops turning, then starts again when the load is removed.

I'm mystified. What could cause that to happen?

Thanks, Neil.

JohnF19/03/2019 16:17:53
841 forum posts
95 photos

Hi I'm not an electrician and have only basic knowledge on these matters, however it sounds like the motor is running on the starter windings which suggests the centrifugal switch inside the motor is not working as it should. When you switch off the motor listen for a click as it slows down -- no click I guess means the switch has not triggered at startup.

The Super 7 was generally fitted with a 1/2HP motor, if it comes to the crunch and you need to replace it i would strongly suggest going to 3 phase from one of the suppliers herein -- I got mine from Transwave

Cheers John

Brian Wood19/03/2019 16:17:54
1930 forum posts
37 photos

Neil,

I know it sounds silly, but what depth of hole is it you are drilling?

Brass can grab on a dull drill and if the hole is deep and the grab well developed, that could slow down a motor. 1/3 HP is not very powerful, the motors Myford usually fitted to S 7 lathes were nearer 3/4 HP. To actually stall yours is unusual, at that drill size in particular and may be a sign that the motor is very tired and due for change