Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale Nov 29

Cutting a concave radius on the end of a round bar

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Robin Graham18/03/2019 22:30:42
526 forum posts
120 photos

I want to make something like this (apologies for carp drawing, I'm no artist!):

img_1969.jpg

Material will be stainless steel and my idea is to make silver soldered butt joints between the 1/4" 'beams' and the diagonal struts.

I would need to make concave radiuses (forum software doesn't like that, radii is OK though, sigh) on the ends of the struts to conform to the 1/4" beams. My first thought was to make a jig from a block of mild steel with 3/16 and 1/4" drilled holes intersecting at 45 degrees - I would put the blank for the strut in the 3/16" hole, then drill though 1/4" from the other hole. My second thought was that when the drill hits the tougher strut at an angle it might deflect, start chewing the MS jig, jam up and everything would go horribly wrong.

Am I worrying unnecessarily? Or is there a better way of doing this? I expect so!

Robin.

Edited By Robin Graham on 18/03/2019 22:31:32

Farmboy18/03/2019 22:54:32
108 forum posts
8 photos

I think I would make a jig similar to what you suggest, but to fit on the lathe topslide and hold the 3/16" pieces horizontally at centre height at the 45 degree angle, then put a 1/4" milling cutter in a collet in the headstock to cut the concave. I'd be worried, like you, about the drill wandering in your proposed setup.

Mike.

Jeff Dayman18/03/2019 23:01:46
1467 forum posts
37 photos

Could you make the centre piece from 1 rod, with alternating 90 degree bends? That way the bends would give a large area soldered joint where they meet the 1/4" rods, as well as being far less cutting and fitting work to prep the joints to make the structure. Some welded steel architectural beams and rafters were done like that years ago, but used two angles welded on each side rather than the 1/4" rods.