By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale July 23rd

Pitched aluminium rings. Any ideas how to machine them?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Christopher Buxton03/02/2019 18:24:00
5 forum posts
3 photos
Hi there, so I'm a newbie to the engineering world and probably trying to jump in at the deep end.
I want to reproduce some watch bezel inserts from aluminium.If they were flat then probably not too difficult to make on the lathe but unfortunately they are conical.I can get some stock aluminium tube that's less than a mm too big O.d and I.d so very little machining there. If I get the correct pitch from the leading face using the lathe then I can cut off. That just leaves the back to do. Would I need a milling machine to do this or could I cut off at an angle?
Dimensions are 37.7mm o.d 0.4mm depth 31.7mm I.d 0.7 mm depth. Think the pitch is 27 degree putting the dimensions into a trapezoid calculator. I've put photos into an album but not sure how to add them to this post. Thanks for advice
Howard Lewis03/02/2019 18:57:41
2155 forum posts
2 photos

Could you turn the chamfer on the outer end, (offset Top Slide) and then carefully part off?

Or maybe I've misunderstood the shape.

Howard

Emgee03/02/2019 18:59:27
1149 forum posts
206 photos

Hi Christopher

Welcome to the Forum, you could turn the internal angle (bevel) on a lathe by setting the top slide over to the required angle.
The external angle may be possible by turning the bevel before parting, or even parting off at the required angle, this would be quite difficult to do, especially if there was no flat area at the ID of the part.

You may be able to turn a flat ring and make a simple press tool and former to achieve the bevel shape.

Emgee

Christopher Buxton03/02/2019 19:09:04
5 forum posts
3 photos
Hi Howard,
Thanks for your reply. Are you able to view photos in my album?