ALDI 3D Balco printer

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Rik Shaw20/11/2018 10:33:41
1240 forum posts
336 photos

ALDI email tells me that one of this weeks online specials is this:

**LINK**

I have no experience of 3D printers so any comments regarding this item would be appreciated. Hopefully one of these could be on its way down the chimney in a few weeks time . gift

Rik

Mick Charity20/11/2018 11:18:41
322 forum posts
4 photos

That is a rebadged Wanhao i3Plus Duplicator & £300 is a competetive price for what it is.

If you have no specific need for a printer & have the time to learn the basics & experiment then it might be a good buy.

In the early days of computers I used to shout out loud to anyone who would listen that EVERY child should have one in the family. I feel exactly the same about 3D printers.

Beware though, there isn't much of a market for good 3d printers with little use & if you find it's not for you then you may be chucking £250 away if you cannot offload it.

Mark Rand20/11/2018 12:12:58
664 forum posts

So, should one be getting one to make lost PLA patterns for foundry work? With the design being done via Alibre Atom, of course.

JasonB20/11/2018 12:21:38
15034 forum posts
1532 photos

I think pattern would be the main use I would have for a printer if I get round to buying. I would only go for lost PLA if the part was shaped such that it could not be pulled from a sand mould.

Mark Rand20/11/2018 14:19:01
664 forum posts

Good point, and one that eventually crossed my mind later while out in the shed. Maybe next year.

Martin of Wick20/11/2018 14:37:20
47 forum posts
2 photos

hmm, I have one (Wanhao) and in my view the mechanics are very poor and difficult to retrofix and the firmware not easy to upgrade without a great deal of faff.

That being said it turns out reasonable prints provided you are content to be constrained to 'not quite' engineering plastics.