By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale Oct 11th

Is this the right place for me?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Jeff Allan27/07/2018 09:56:41
15 forum posts

I'm restoring an old wooden yacht and I'm finding many parts that need machining, for which I plan a Myford lathe of some flavour in my home workshop. The problem I'm having is in finding a support forum. I'm a hobby engineer, working from home, and every time I search an issue, seem to end up at ME.

I've subscribed, but I guess the question is do you want me here? I can see a wealth of Myford and machining issues, to which i can benefit, and contribute, but I'm not building a Model.

Nige27/07/2018 14:55:21
370 forum posts
65 photos

It certainly is the right place Jeff 😊 There are all sorts of interest here, motorbikes, cars, model aircraft and others and probably boating people as well; you will fit right in and welcome 😀

Samsaranda27/07/2018 15:06:05
784 forum posts
5 photos

There is a wealth of information and discussions here on this forum, the greater diversity of subjects leads to an enrichment of knowledge all round, your are definitely not out of place on here.

Dave W

richardandtracy27/07/2018 15:08:27
938 forum posts
10 photos

Allan,

I first joined years ago when I planned to build a Junk rigged steel Bruce Roberts Spray 36, and this seemed the friendliest forum with appropriate skills on the machining side. Since moving house, the yacht building option is now impossible, but the applicability of the skills has remained even with my reduced ambition hobby of pen making.

Regards

Richard.

Brian Oldford27/07/2018 15:10:07
561 forum posts
4 photos