By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale Nov 29

DC motors

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gordon W19/07/2018 11:02:24
2005 forum posts

I have two motors, both 24V DC, 250W, 14 Amps, 2500 rpm. These are permanent magnet 4 brush. Question is can these be connected in series to run on 48V ? It seems obvious that they can and will work ok but I'm losing confidence. Also can a cheap 48v speed controller be used ?

Norman Billingham19/07/2018 11:32:46
17 forum posts

I'm no expert on motors but I suspect not as a general rule. If the two motors are connected in series then the same current must flow in each of them. If they always have exactly the same load then that might work, but if the load on one changes then the current it draws must change and that must surely affect the other motor?

john swift 119/07/2018 11:36:02
310 forum posts
175 photos

It may be possible

but it depends on the motors being identical and the mechanical load on the motors being the same

my instinct is to use a 24V supply and a separate speed control for each motor

what are you wanting to do with the motors ?

If its some kind of electric vehicle is it possible to have the motors driving the same drive shaft ?

John

Edited By john swift 1 on 19/07/2018 11:36:58

James Jenkins 119/07/2018 11:42:54
112 forum posts

Just going to jump in here and say that having gone through "cheap" import speed controllers, I now use these ones:

**LINK**

and find them to be very good.

James

Gordon W19/07/2018 11:51:03
2005 forum posts

Thanks- that was quick. It's for vehicle use, hopefully, They will be coupled together mechanically, both driving the same shaft via chain coupling, so should have same load and current draw. Motors are identical, off mini scooters, and are like new inside. The use of cheap controllers is noted, good advice I think.

John Haine19/07/2018 12:06:03