Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale Jan 24th

Pillow block bearings

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Brown 923/11/2015 19:14:53
75 forum posts
4 photos

I am looking to buy some pillow block bearings. There are a number of suppliers. What I am finding strange is that there is a wide difference in price for what appears to be the same product.

For instance Bearingboys sell an NP40 40mm pillow block bearing for £38.81.

Bearing Shop UK sell an NP 40 40mm pillow block bearing which appears to be identical for £12.60! Am I missing something here, as I have very little knowledge of bearings?

David

David Clark 123/11/2015 19:44:52
3357 forum posts
112 photos
10 articles

Lots on EBay.

Nicholas Farr23/11/2015 21:28:33
3002 forum posts
1371 photos

Hi David, both bearings are identical in dimensions, but the ratings differ. Bearingboys are selling RHP bearings, whereas Bearing Shop UK, brand varies. RHP have been around for many years and are a merger of three well known bearing manufacturers, Ransome, Hoffman and Pollard from pre 1970's era to become Ransome Hoffman Pollard Limited and are very good quality. The various brands that Bearing shop sell could come from any where in the world, they may or may not be as good or better than RHP's but price often reflects what you are buying. You will have to decide for yourself if you need a high reliable unit for your needs, or if a cheaper version will fit the bill.

Regards Nick.

P.S. I have no connection with RHP or any bearing outlets of any company.

David Brown 924/11/2015 20:23:06
75 forum posts
4 photos

I will have to think about this, however given the 3 times price difference and that I need 4 bearings it is tempting to go for the cheaper option!