Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Allendale Oct 22nd

Rotary table suggestions for Myford vertical slide

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
James Fitzsimons13/10/2015 07:42:07
7 forum posts

Hi all,

I am a novice model engineer and am just getting to know my Myford Super 7. I shortly want to embark on a small IC engine project that will require a rotary table for one or two parts.

As I don't have a mill yet I will be doing any milling required on the vertical slide of my lathe, so I'm looking for suggestions for the best rotary table that will work with a Myford vertical slide (I only have a very basic non-swivelling type).

I really like the look of the Vertex 4" HV-4 but am not sure it will be able to be mounted on the vertical slide.

Thanks for any and all advice you can provide!

James

John Haine13/10/2015 08:53:24
2662 forum posts
136 photos

Look at RDG Tools. They have one made for the Myford slide. I doubt that the HV4 would fit as there isn't room for the clamps.

Martin Kyte13/10/2015 08:53:38
1501 forum posts
24 photos

Regarding the vertex 4" I don't think that is going to work. Way too big to even mount on the boring table.

If you are not planning a mill soon you should maybe start thinking along the lines of a verical slide mounted milling spindle and use the head-stock of the lathe as your rotary table. This would allow you to typically mill curves on con rod ends and drill PCD holes for cylinder covers and the like once you have sorted a simple dividing arrangement for the head-stock. However if you don't want to go to all that trouble an just need to round the ends of components use filing buttons instead. There are more ways of skinning a cat etc . . .

In general the less equipment you have the older the techniques you have to pursue. Find out what Model Engineers were doing in the 1950's.

regards Martin

David Clark 113/10/2015 08:54:05
3357 forum posts
112 photos
10 articles