By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Andrew Johnston

Here is a list of all the postings Andrew Johnston has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Reducing shank diameter on a reamer.
20/07/2018 22:41:29

I'm no expert, but I agree with NDIY.

Let's assume we can reduce the shank on the reamer, but to what concentricity, say 1 thou? If we're lucky the 3-jaw chuck may hold concentric to 1 thou, but may be a whole lot worse. So that's the "cut" gone before we start. Given that the reamer has a parallel shank we can assume it is a machine reamer. Like all tools reamers need to cut, not rub. A 2 thou cut is rubbing. For a 16mm reamer I would leave a 0.3-0.5mm allowance for reaming.

If it is essential to remove 2 thou from the bore I'd dial in the bush in a 4-jaw chuck and then take a fine cut with a boring bar,

Andrew

Thread: Aircraft General Discussion
20/07/2018 17:06:00
Posted by martin perman on 18/07/2018 17:18:32:

...............and over the house came a very low, 500ft, DC 6 heading in the direction of Coventry. I assume it was Air Atlantique's. What a sight.

Ah, the penny drops! When I was flying the small glider near Gransden Lodge on Monday afternoon I say what was clearly a multi-engine prop driven aircraft heading towards Cambridge. It was clearly a vintage aeroplane, but I wasn't sure what. Now I've looked up DC6 that is definitely what it was; the tail is identical, an angular fin and rudder with a narrow chord.

Andrew

Thread: Internal thread cutting (the basics)
20/07/2018 15:41:39

Hmmmm, according to my tables the OD of a 5/8" BSP thread is 0.902". So if you want to cut a matching internal thread the ID to start with needs to be the OD of the external thread minus twice the thread depth, which I make 0.811".