By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Baz

Here is a list of all the postings Baz has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: How can I make an accurate 90 grind using a diamond whetstone?
27/10/2021 14:36:48

Howard I told him this when he asked about the sixty four pieces he wanted with a knife edge or some such machined on them. I don’t think he appreciated my advice then and I doubt if he will now. I think I shall be ignoring his posts in future.

Thread: LBSC 440 Virginia
25/10/2021 15:56:37

When I was an apprentice the Forman was building a Virginia, he had done a beautiful Juliet before and Virginia was his second loco build, most of it being done at work. I distinctly remember him going into town one lunchtime and coming back with about half a dozen refills for very small steel tape rules, these were no more then a quarter inch wide. He spent the afternoon soaking them in chemiclene and then setting fire to them, all the lettering disappeared and he had strips of beautiful spring steel. Next day he made up punches and dies and made the sets of leaves, by the end of the week he had beautiful sets of springs. Small steel tapes are still available, Stanley 1metre powerlock 39-133 if you want to go that route, often seen on checkouts in builders merchants.

Thread: Mag chuck dismantling
24/10/2021 09:36:04

Thanks Bill, I will in future grind it with magnet off. Never seen any manual for the chucks before.

23/10/2021 21:31:57

Gerry, don’t bother removing the handle, it should come away with the centre section of the chuck. I have taken a few of these apart in my time and some can be reluctant to come apart, one chuck needed persuading with a four inch bricklayers bolster applied under the top plate to lift it up, it had to come apart, it was seized solid, others have fallen apart as soon as the screws came out.

23/10/2021 18:23:02