By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for ANDY CAWLEY

Here is a list of all the postings ANDY CAWLEY has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Good morning
15/08/2020 08:08:04
Posted by Tom Walker 1 on 13/08/2020 19:33:05:

Well Tim, Im not an engineer, so "weedy" was my definition of choice!laugh

Im used to my machinery starting rapidly.

Thanks, Tom.

I should say so Tom with Hisso power😄❗️

My simple way of checking rpm is to chuck a length of threaded bar and put a nut on it. Mark a length on it, set the lathe going , grab the nut so that it runs between the two marks and time it. From the distance and the pitch you can calculate the number of revolutions.

The longer the length the more accurate but beware of the potential of a long thin length flailing if you rev it too mutch. To be safe I usually have the end of the rod inside the taper socket.

See you at Mallory❓❓❓

Thread: Which Lathe???
02/07/2020 11:46:30

Anyone looking to buy a second hand industrial lathe(or even a brand new chinese offering) suitable for a home workshop could do a lot worse than look at the Leinen LZ4S that is currently advertised on homeworkshop.org situated in Halifax. I have no connection with the advert other than the fact that I own one also and think its a brilliant piece of kit. See what Tony has to say about them on lathes.co.uk.

If anybody on here buys it I would love to hear from them.

Thread: Workshop Disposal in South Yorkshire
29/05/2020 09:24:14