By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for JohnF

Here is a list of all the postings JohnF has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Need help with meddling pillar drill.
15/09/2019 11:47:58

Is the motor a capacitor start? Does the motor buzz when power is supplied -- if so it may be the capacitor, I am no electrician and there will be others with the expertise along soon I guess !

Also why not plug the drill direct into a wall socket the cutting out the extension.

John

Edited By JohnF on 15/09/2019 11:49:01

Thread: Just bought an ML7, what should i do first?
15/09/2019 11:33:58

Shaun, for an oil gun have a look here **LINK** I have two of these and they work very well, not 100% leakproof but very close, i also have the Myford "leakproof" model and mine leaks far worse then the cheapo listed here !

Regarding the bed re-grind by an engine re-builder a pal of mind did that for the surface then sorted the sides of the ways by hand with a bit out of the box thinking and it worked very well.

See your messages Cheers John

Good luck with the rebuild

Thread: Petrol Gen for 7 1/4 locomotive
14/09/2019 23:46:22

Bump

Thread: drillling bronze
13/09/2019 11:37:47

Which bronze ? It can make a difference but assuming Phosphor Bronze --

Grind your drill slightly incorrectly i.e.so it cuts oversize by a tiny amount by removing a small amount from one side of the point this means generally that only one side of the drill is cutting thus pushing it away from the other side and this stops it grabbing !

Use plenty of cutting oil or suds, it is very different to brass - don't blunt your drill or reduce the rake

John

PS how deep is the tapped hole ?

Edited By JohnF on 13/09/2019 11:39:00

Thread: Talisman traction engine
13/09/2019 09:02:12