By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Martin Kyte

Here is a list of all the postings Martin Kyte has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: What sort of things DO NOT inspire you
25/02/2020 13:56:27

Tattoos

Thread: Coal being phased out
25/02/2020 13:50:45
Posted by Derek Lane on 25/02/2020 09:36:14:

Someone with more knowledge than myself may know the answer to this question.

If the weather is down to us humans how long does it take for the "pollution" to take effect in changing the weather, if this weather that we are having now was caused by all the smoke and smog of the victorian era then with all that has been done so far must contribute to reducing the weather?

I'll have a go at a partial answer at least with the caviat that this is my understanding only and I am not a climate scientist. Broadly speaking :-

Prior to large scale 'biology' on the planet global temperatures were determined by solar irradience, albedo (ration of radiation absorbed to reflected) and the insulating properties of the atmosphere which varies according to composition. This was a dynamic system which oscillated wildly with positive and negative feedback loops.

With the advent of large scale biology additional feedback loops arose that had the effect of stabilising the climate.

Vulcanism (generating dust in the atmosphere), geological subduction (recycling of carbonates again through vulcanism) and variations on solar output and mean orbital radius shifted the equilibrium from time to time.