By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Chris Drew

Here is a list of all the postings Chris Drew has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Absolute beginner, just bought a cheap lathe
25/09/2021 10:51:19

My thanks for your suggestions, I have now removed the top slide and bought a quick change tool post. Using a 10mm piece of aluminium as a filler I have mounted the tool post to the cross side and have the lathe running now. Still some mods to do as the tool post is too close to the centre line and I could do with it being 2mm lower as the tools are as low as they will go and are still slightly above the centre but it’s a start! First project will be a new handle for the tool post as the one that was supplied is pretty flimsy and they forgot to tap both ends!

20/09/2021 21:22:47

Thanks to all for your suggestions. I have bought a 25mm block of steel which is the correct height for the top slide and am in the process of making a 'block' for the tool post to sit on I've mocked it up with a 20mm piece of steel which I had lying around from my press and this would work other than the tools sitting too low but I may either use the 25mm piece or make up a filler to vive me a better surface finish as I don't have a mill. Either way I hope to up and running this week. Have some new cutting tools arriving and I will try and get hold of some alloy bar to practice / mess about with. I do need to turn a spacer for an engine mount for a Laverda I am rebuilding so that may well be my first project - nice and simple !

20/09/2021 13:26:27