By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Chris George

Here is a list of all the postings Chris George has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Boxford missing a Nut
23/05/2020 19:42:56

So I finally jumped in and brought myself a Boxford Lathe, and currently just fixing all the issues. Managed to figure out how to take the play out the cross slides etc.

However just notices a small bolt missing. The thread is a little damaged but looks like it could be a M6x1.25. But as it’s a British machine made in 1952 I’m surprised it’s metric?

Anyone have any pearls of wisdom or knowledge they can shine on the situation.

Thread: Shaft Tolerance
14/05/2020 06:53:11

Im new to machining parts and was wandering about the correct Dia to machine a shaft to?

I have a shaft that has a bush (20mm ID) pressed onto the end giving it a snug fit. What size do I machine the shaft to to ensure the snug fit but not to split the bush when pressing it into position?

Regards Chris

Thread: Tig Welder recommendation
13/05/2020 21:42:00

Everyone will have their own opinion of whats cheap, however I tried the cheap TIG inverter a few years ago, needless to say it serverd as a starting point and a learning exercise. Six months later I sold all the Cheap stuff and went for a R-Tech. Very happy with the upgrade.

Thread: Hello from Kent
13/05/2020 21:26:06

Hello everyone, Im new to the forum and im kicking myself I have not discovered this forum sooner. Seems to be full of like minded people who I could easily share a pint with and discuss different ongoing projects.

Thread: Carbide Insert Designations & Suppliers
13/05/2020 21:14:55

I am glad I found this thread, Im looking to get carbide tips and was wandering where to start looking. Thanks for the info..

Magazine Locator