By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Dr_GMJN

Here is a list of all the postings Dr_GMJN has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Stuart 10V Build Log - Complete Beginner...
17/01/2021 15:31:01

Thanks both.

The paint was from Mike Rhoades, it’s Meccano Dark Blue enamel (1978). It was applied by airbrush, then baked in the oven (see page 16).

Edited By Dr_GMJN on 17/01/2021 15:32:03

Thread: New ways to skin a cat
17/01/2021 13:52:24

May well have misunderstood what's going on, but why is turning through exactly 90 degrees so important for drilling the pin holes?

Wouldn't 'about 90 degrees' be OK, or really any angle so long as the drilled pin holes didn't break into the square hole?

Thread: Silver Soldering Materials
17/01/2021 08:12:06

OK guys, thanks very much.

For now I’ll ‘stick’ with Loctite, and not bother with solder.

17/01/2021 00:11:27
Posted by Nicholas Wheeler 1 on 16/01/2021 18:17:35:
Posted by Dr_GMJN on 16/01/2021 17:18:09:

Jason - it wasn't actually for the Victoria cylinder, it was for the silver soldering required on the Hemmingway kits Myford spindle handle. Not sure what bit it's for, but presumably for fitting something like a 30mm x 40mm long boss to a shaft. Not bought the kit yet, but its says:

"There is a single silver-soldered joint for which you'll need solder, flux and a propane torch."

I wouldn't solder that even though I have the means. Step into the 20th century and loctite it.

I’ve used Loctite on a fabricated crankshaft (with pins), and it worked very nicely, but I’d like to try silver soldering just to have another technique available. I’ve also got some repair work to do on an old Wilesco engine, and an even older stationary engine that belonged to my Dad.

Then again, some say Wilesco used soft solder, others dont...

16/01/2021 17:18:09

Thanks all,