By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Phil Davies

Here is a list of all the postings Phil Davies has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Long bed lathes affected by the tide
05/12/2019 15:20:28

Anecdotal of course, but I know of at least one place where this has happened, though of course it is based on hearsay. I do know a place where I used to work as an apprentice, on one of the machines there was a large trumpf CNC punch press, and it used to play havoc when you were trying to clock in jobs, with the dial indicator bouncing all over the place. They did eventually move it into an adjoining building, and set it into a rubber lined foundation. (Which, they soon discovered, had an underground stream under it....)

Thread: Warco GH1230 and Toolposts
21/11/2019 11:16:59

Heh, I do like metal magling.... My particular expertise is CNC, either GCode or Mazatrol (Used to program and run large Integrex Mill/turn machines as well as 5ft vertical borers - with the latter a 1/2" cut in duplex was not uncommon....). I think its a case of getting the lathe, then looking for a suitable toolpost, I do like the multifix holders, reminds me of my apprentice days in the training school.

Thanks for the link to create tooling, I think that this would be the route I go down, I have no qualms in modifying the cross slide to suit, or to make adapters to suit.

I used to have a small Warco 180 years ago, and still have a lot of tooling from that, since I am a hoarder. Mostly carbide inserts regardless. I also have a decent grinder (just needs decent white wheels, or CBN wheels for carbide) and am quite adept at grinding my own tooling. I was taught properly, can hand grind drills, including split point, rake etc etc. Its been a while, I must admit :D . Last place had a toolroom so you get lazy lol.