By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for David Kenyon 2

Here is a list of all the postings David Kenyon 2 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Need help making a camshaft
05/04/2019 20:03:06

That's great Jason thanks , I presumed the flank had a slight radius, just curious but how do know

the flanks are flat.

05/04/2019 17:47:34

Looking at the timing it shows the crank moves 240 degrees for the inlet and 260 for exhaust so that would be

120 and 130 for the camshaft . On the dials for the jig it states 130 / 140 which confuses me .

Here is the whole plan , you will need to zoom in img_1302.jpg

05/04/2019 17:44:24

Its for a four cylinder Gypsy engine, the plans show that the cam is built up from separate parts ie. the lobes and bearings are machined then Loctite onto the shaft.

Now I understand what a camshaft does and how it operates but I have little knowledge of making one. After some research I feel making the lobes on my mill using small flat cuts with the aid of a rotary table would be the best option for me.

So I need to come up with some figures for the machining process.

The plans show just one lobe as below

img_1296.jpg

There is also a timing guide and some plans for a jig which I am not sure how its used but I assume it may be for a grinding machineimg_1297.jpg

Thread: Making split bronze bearings [ silver soldering ]
28/03/2019 18:20:45

Well I tinned each half with soft solder then clamped them together and re heated.

Worked well, I managed to machine 5 bearings with little trouble although the bar did split on my third bearing

when I drilled out the centre, the drill pulled into the bronze.

I re soldered but this time put a jubilee clip around the outside until I had finished the bore .

22/03/2019 14:05:54

Well thanks for the replies, certainly given me something to think about.