By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for larry phelan 1

Here is a list of all the postings larry phelan 1 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Metal Cutting Power Saw
06/03/2019 12:10:58

How the Hell do you manage to work in a shop that small ?????? I salute you ! My place is 40X20 feet and I still fall over stuff !

Thread: Lathe screwcutting
06/03/2019 11:33:38

Screwcutting is one of the jobs I really like doing,and although I am no expert [far from it ! ],I get fairly good results and great satisfaction from it.

May I suggest that you pick up a copy of Sparey,s book,where you will find ALL the info you need,explained in very simple terms [even I could understand it ! ] Everything is explained and he mentions that even at that time,leaving the half nuts engaged for all threads was becoming common in industry. I never use the thread dial for any threads.

I have cut threads up to 2 1/4 " 8 tpi without any trouble,left and right hand. Sounds like you are missing your start point each time,also,no need to invert the tool,works OK right way up. Tool was nothing more than HSS,ground by eye to form.

Give it a try,it will come to you.

Thread: Milling Collet Jammed in Taper
05/03/2019 12:28:11

Yes,that,s what I would try,and before someone shoots me down,let me say that I tend to use a smart tap with my lump hammer,since I dont have a lead hammer.I find it,s better than fooling around with a too light hammer.

Something I came across last week in Lidl might be of interest to other members with millings machines.

I have a LUX mill,on a stand,which brings the top of the spindle quite difficult to reach for changing drawbars.

Tried standing on a beer crate,not very steady,not high enough,not safe. Came across a small fold up set of steps,well made light to handle rock steady,and all for 16 Euro !

Down side is that if SWMBO see,s them they,re gone !!