By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Stuart Munro 1

Here is a list of all the postings Stuart Munro 1 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Bureaucracy with a tinge of Madness
28/06/2021 12:56:55

I too use the gateway, and always have received excellent service from HMRC. Ran a business that dipped up into VAT for a few years and have always done full returns. Their online computerised software is great.

But can see why some have problems

28/06/2021 08:10:56

Duncan,

Of course its my fault. I never practiced as an accountant but used my accounting skills to spot problems in companies...boring stuff so I just accept its my fault. For the last 15 years until my retirement I actually lectured finance to bankers and such so I usually say I was a teacher.

But on a serious note, your problems in having to fill out a full return are all because many of us feel comfortable in 'hiding' income from HMRC. Its simple to pay the guy coming to clean the carpets in cash, the window cleaner etc. This aids them in avoiding Income tax and VAT. The biggest tax fraud of all is VAT avoided through cash payments.

So the intention of HMRC is to catch all those miscreants which means that us honest folks have to comply with more paperwork, oh and by the way pay more tax to cover the tax avoided by others.

Sounds like I'm defending HMRC, I'm not because it is very irritating when they can not see the logic from a layman's viewpoint. We need to explain in their language. Like expecting a non engineer to talk about a morse taper instead of saying the cone shaped piece I stick into the hole.

Thread: Cold blue for Aluminium?
27/06/2021 18:02:28

Martin,

I machine aluminium for the insides of radio controlled boats and the aly needs to be well protected.