By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Stuart Munro 1

Here is a list of all the postings Stuart Munro 1 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Silver Solder
17/05/2021 16:52:41

I mostly work in brass and use Silverflo 55 which I source from GLR Kennions. They provide appropriate flux also.

Low melting point (for a silver solder) so easy to work with.

Stuart

Thread: The future is Tiny
17/05/2021 16:46:27

V8eng, very interesting. On that basis will we come to regret the technical solution to our current (no pun intended) problem?

Perhaps we should all work from home, from houses without light or heat, sleeping as soon as it gets dark. We should eat only what we grow in our gardens and forget all about tech goods which we have hitherto imported at great cost to the planet. Forget about engineering (at last, as an ex accountant I can point the blame at the engineers instead of just envying their skills)

Or should we admit that the real problem is overpopulation.

Stuart

17/05/2021 13:35:19

Another useless fact that I recall reading - the pollution caused by horses in London before the car, made living there almost unbearable. That is unless you were too poor to live anywhere else!

Stuart

17/05/2021 13:30:09

I was curious when I read about the 'pollution effect' of New Zealand lamb being less than for Welsh Lamb. Apparently giant container ships with chilled containers actually burn a lot less fuel per kg of lamb shipped than lorries. Not sure that I ever fully believed the example but it does point out that some peoples simplistic view of the 'greenness' of different transport systems is often wrong.

Now if the future is tiny, tiny portions of whatever meat is probably greener, but is it like the old joke, you don't live any longer - it just seems so.

Stuart

Thread: Small saw. Proxxon or something else
04/05/2021 07:05:11