By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Stuart Smith 5

Here is a list of all the postings Stuart Smith 5 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: WM16 or SX2
18/09/2020 23:24:13

Paul

I have machined mild steel, aluminium and brass but not yet stainless steel. I don’t think you will have any problems doing what you want to do with any of the mills you are looking at. Though I am only a beginner and have only used it to make a small stationary engine and various tools for the workshop so far.

Stuart

18/09/2020 23:18:39

Paul

I don’t know if you have spotted it, but Nigel has a SX2.7 not the SX2 you are looking at. The mechanism on the SX2.7 to raise and lower the head and quill is similar to the WM16, but on the SX2 it only has one handle which raises and lowers the whole head. There is also a fine feed for the quill on all three models.

Stuart

Thread: close account
17/09/2020 19:52:07
Posted by Vic on 17/09/2020 12:12:04:

I don’t understand why some of you are being so belligerent. The OP has just asked if there is a mechanism to remove him from the forum. If there is then having asked surely he’s entitled to be removed? If not then a brief explanation from a moderator will surely suffice.

My feelings as well. If someone wants to be removed there must surely be a mechanism for this.

Stuart

Thread: WM16 or SX2
17/09/2020 19:44:56

Paul

I have a WM16 that I bought secondhand. I have no experience of other mills but I am happy with mine.

It is the same as the one advertised. The 2 speed ranges are selected by a high/low knob engaging the appropriate gears, so no belt to change ranges.

The MT2 spindle has an ejector mechanism, so no need to hit the end to release the chuck.

The head can be raised and lowered by a knob at the top right hand side of the column, unlike the SX2.

Stuart

Thread: Suspicious Direct Debit Attempt "GC re Future Publishing"