By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Jack Tapper

Here is a list of all the postings Jack Tapper has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Chester 920 compound slide gib
11/02/2019 13:33:14

Afternoon all,

I have a chester 920 from the late 90's which has a bent compound slide gib strip (No idea how it happened). I got in touch with chester and brought a new one but the sizes are completely different (10mm longer and over 1mm thicker).

I'm pretty new to engineering and only have a mini lathe / hand tools. So I feel making a new one is out of my ability.

Any suggestions on how I can get it sorted?

Thanks

Thread: Mini lathe speed and tailstock question
16/10/2018 17:56:57

Evening all,

I've found the missing RPM's!

The white dot in my picture is in fact a magnet. There are four in total around the spindle nut but in my case two where partially covered by a black substance.

After cleaning it up the readout is now showing the correct numbers.

Thanks for the help gents, I'm sure I'll be back soon with some more beginner questions

14/10/2018 16:44:47

Thanks for the reply's everyone,

The dead centre doesn't actually have a tang but my drill chuck arbor does and the quill has to be extended about 30mm for the taper to grab so I'll definitely cut that tang off..

I'm still a bit lost on the speed as I have tried forward and reverse and both are running at the same speed as mention above. I do think Dave might be right about the speed readout.

I've uploaded a picture in my albums of the tachometer sensor. It looks like it is pointed at the 2 nuts on the back of the spindle when there is a dot on one of the nuts. Next time I have the gear cover off I'll check if there is another dot.

I should say I'm guessing the tachometer is optical and looking for the change of colour instead of looking for magnets.

13/10/2018 19:55:45

Evening everyone,