By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Hollowpoint

Here is a list of all the postings Hollowpoint has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Unimat milling table damage
07/06/2022 08:47:25

I find that scratches often look worse when they reveal a different lighter colour underneath. After you have stoned the burr off rub a little cold gun blue cream into the scratch to brown/blacken the silver and it will make it much less visible. 🙂

Thread: Emco Compact 5 - complete newbie
28/05/2022 15:56:23

Remove the drill chuck from the lathe or milling attachment?

Mill - screws off

Lathe - morse taper, just wind the handle back and it should eject itself.

Edited By Hollowpoint on 28/05/2022 15:56:49

Thread: What are the best quality needle files?
27/05/2022 20:03:24

Vallorbe as mentioned are about the best but also probably the most expensive. They do a set they call "midget" which are supposedly their budget range. In reality there isn't much difference.

If you aren't bothered about a whole set then good quality new old stock can usually be had cheap on ebay. Brands like Stubs, Oberg, Sandvik, Grobet, and pferd.

Thread: Key for a Cowells lathe chuck
26/05/2022 12:57:43

Bernard - heres another picture.

Im going to try modifying a drill chuck key. I'm just waiting on the post. I'm not using the one in the picture I need it! 😅

26/05/2022 08:16:21
Posted by Andy Carlson on 26/05/2022 07:44:17:

The generic key looks promising. Hope it works out for you.

I actually need 3 of these keys! (don't ask) so all help is invaluable!

I tried not to ask but I can't resist... three chucks? or three Cowells lathes?

Both! 🤦🏼‍♂️