By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Hollowpoint

Here is a list of all the postings Hollowpoint has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Mini-Lathe setup for an absolute beginner?
21/05/2019 19:39:15

I'm in the same situation as you atm. I've just bought a mini lathe from amadeal to use in a flat as I don't have 24/7 access to my Boxford anymore 😞 The mini lathe isn't stupidly heavy and should be no bother for two people.

I will make one suggestion though, I personally wouldn't go with HSS. It does cut very well but sharpening might be a problem. I wouldn't fancy using a bench grinder indoors especially in a flat. The noise is horrendous. Cutter geometry isn't easy for a begginer either. Go for a SCLCR indexable cutter with either a 8 or 10mm shank and a box of CCGT tips. You can then do the vast majority of turning operations for little out lay and no sharpening to worry about. 👍

Thread: HSS or CS taps and dies
21/05/2019 09:53:41

Yes that is true. But you seem to be implying I don't have much experience. Belive me Ive tried the lot. I have good quality British made carbon steel taps from the likes of Hall, Osborne, and Clarkson. They are about on par with a low to mid range HSS tap.

Thread: indexible internal thread cutting tool
21/05/2019 09:36:15

Did you get the tip with the tool? There is two types of insert. One for internal work and one for external work. They look identical at a glance, it's very possible you have the wrong type.

Thread: HSS or CS taps and dies
21/05/2019 09:26:29