By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for one pound

Here is a list of all the postings one pound has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: ECLIPSE No 39 Drill Bit Sharpener
11/04/2019 20:19:35
Posted by thomas oliver 2 on 11/04/2019 19:45:09:

I have been sharpening drills for eight decades ( believe it or not) I have the Eclipse, the Picador, and various other drill sharpening devices and they mostly require setting one edge then the other. I bought the sharpener from Lidl store for about £15 a year ago and all my troubles ended. The drill is mounted in a carrier and set to a gauge, one edge sharpened on the diamond wheel then the carrier is reversed and the other edge sharpened without need for resetting. It works fine and my local store has them in stock right now and gets them in regularly. It is also a multi sharpener and can sharpen chisels, garden shears, planes, and knives.

which sharper is that may I ask?

11/04/2019 19:23:25

What about these at least there is a spare stone included:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5-10mm-HSS-DRILL-BIT-SHARPENER-REPLACEMENT-GRINDING-STONE-SHARPENING-MACHINE/361521431396?hash=item542c5b4364:g:mpkAAOSwBRVbrQII

at this guy seems to have sharped a blunt drill:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5yzpwH3ltY

10/04/2019 11:26:10
There's probably a good reason why Eclipse stopped making them. wink

Look up Reliance or Picador jigs to use with a bench grinder, or if you're feeling a bit more flush with cash, maybe the Sealey SMS2008

Bill

Bill thanks for taking the time to look at the Eclipse. I will look at those other options - at least the Sealey SMS2008 has a replacement wheel available though £13!

09/04/2019 20:55:30

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody has used a ECLIPSE No 39 Drill Bit Sharpener?

I would like to know if it can really sharpen say a common 6mm jobber drill for example on a bit of sand paper (right grade of coarse).