By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Perko7

Here is a list of all the postings Perko7 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Door knob collar
16/05/2019 11:11:44

Original probably stamped, but would metal spinning over a suitable former be a better solution? I know very little about it other than what I've read in some books but it seems like a possibility.

Thread: Chinese Lathes
09/05/2019 06:59:59

I would give my C6 a 5 out of 5 star rating

Edited By Jim Dobson 1 on 08/05/2019 01:27:18

I also have a Sieg C6 purchased new from Ausee at Christmas 2016 and have had very few problems and it has done everything asked of it. The only downsides compared with my other lathe (a 1929 3.5" Ideal) are the lack of back-gear, lack of a handwheel on the leadscrew, and lack of lever-locking tailstock but those are relatively minor disadvantages. As a similar self-taught (late in life) swarf-maker I'm more than happy with it.

Thread: What Did You Do Today 2019
27/04/2019 12:15:07

Finally got around to silver-soldering some steel components of my built-up coupling rods. Only chose this method due to lack of ready access to a milling machine to mill from solid.

Surprised how easy it was once I had sufficient heat. Ended up putting too much solder in some areas as it flashed through the gaps very quickly once melted so I was a bit unsure of whether there was enough to make a solid joint, hence added a bit more 'for good measure'. Turns out I shouldn't have.

Despite all advice about needing absolute cleanliness, managed to solder in solid some temporary spacers made from black mild steel that had only had the mill scale cleaned off with vinegar and were otherwise untouched. Seems like Tenacity flux works pretty well even on dirty steel.

Now to clean up, drill and ream holes for bushes and fit to loco. Will post some photos when they look decent enough.