By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for An Other

Here is a list of all the postings An Other has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Royal Mail scam
13/09/2021 18:04:10

Might be of interest to those concerned about 'payment for delivery' scams

Link

Thread: Computer Bewilderment
03/09/2021 20:53:25

Gordon beat me to it - my motherboard has 6 SATA channels, but channels 5 & 6 are not available if I use an M2 SSD, so you need to check which channels are in use - this was detailed in the handbook provided with the computer.

Thread: Overheated Drill
01/09/2021 11:05:11

While I agree with the arguments about getting the correct size and type of drill for the job, I have had some experience with a hamfisted neighbour - I had three drills of various sizes, one of which was a Skil drill I had owned for about 10 years - all the drills got extensive use by me, with no problems - then my neighbour borrowed two - one being the Skil.

Later in the day, I saw him using the Skil to drill holes in a brick wall, and obviously making heavy weather of it - bearing down hard on the drill, slowing it to the extent that it almost stopped. I suggested he just back off a bit, and let the drill do the work, but it was a waste of time - an hour later he came and told me it had stopped working. When I picked it up, it was still extremely hot. So clearly technique matters as well. (he never did replace the drills - and doesn't get any of my kit now)!

Thread: Not One but Two Odd items!
17/08/2021 18:18:00