By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for martyn nutland

Here is a list of all the postings martyn nutland has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Bronze bushing
26/10/2019 08:19:27

Many thanks everyone.

Yes...they were Oilite originally. I bought the Oilite replacements from the site Colin mentions of whom I am also a satisfied customer. But on this occasion the bushes were a mile too big. I baulked at making a tapered mandrel to hold them to try to turn them down largely because I'm not good with tapers. Hence I decided to make new ones.

Yes also...they were Imperial originally, but I always work in metric because I find it 100(!) times easier and logical.

Finally, the 'Oilite' bushes I got from the supplier had a lubrication hole halfway along! Struck me as a bit odd as there's no provision on the back plate for an oil/grease nipple and my understanding was Oilite bearings were permanently pre-lubricated?

Thanks again and a tres bonne weekend from la belle France!

Martyn

25/10/2019 15:11:25

Hello

I'm needing to make bronze bushing for the brake camshafts on my Austin Seven project. For those not familiar, the bush carries the stem of the shaft through the brake backplate from the brake actuating cam itself to the operating lever.

The bushing needs to be about 26mm long, 13-ish mm O/D for a push fit in the back plate with a bore of 11mm.

I've got the stock set up in the lathe with a 10.5mm drill in the tailstock drill chuck. (The plan is to reamer to 11mm when the axle is attached to the chassis).

However, the drill is making painfully slow headway and repeatedly snatching in the bore.

I think this is because I haven't 'backed-off' or blunted the lips on the drill (didn't want to spoil a drill!). Would that be the likely cause of the problem?

As always many thanks in advance for a view/advice.

Martyn

Thread: RENAULT DAUPHINE
04/08/2019 08:35:16