By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for choochoo_baloo

Here is a list of all the postings choochoo_baloo has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Help identifying "garter type" oil seals
11/07/2020 15:08:49

It seems I need to replace the "garter type oil seals" (as the MEW restoration article author describes them), for the oil bath power feed gearbox shafts that pass through the cast iron body into the oil reservoir, on my Senior M1 mill.

However a google search has failed to bring up anything with the "garter" label. Hence can anyone suggest what are the correct seals I need, obviously imperial sizes. I'm new to all of this!

Thread: I particularly enjoy the recent Myford restoration articles
05/07/2020 18:32:02

Feedback is always helpful, good or bad. As such I wanted to say that a highlight of my MEW subscription over the past 12 months or so have been the few Myford restoration articles by Peter Barker. As a self-taught home machinist, the thorough but unpretentious style bas been very informative. I've had many "oh so now that xx makes sense" reading them!

Niel Wyatt - I know you're a responsive Editor, so I thought it was worth mentioning the above.

I hope more maintenance type articles on the popular brand machines might be included in future editions. I expect they're quite popular. Particularly as COVID restrictions continue to ease.

All in all, a great magazine!

Thread: Overview of fitting variable frequency drive (VFD) to a Myford ML7
30/06/2020 00:59:08

Morning chaps. Whilst undertaking overdue spindle/bearing maintenace on my Myford ML7, I started to entertain the idea of a variable frequency (VFD) motor upgrade.

I've read a few posts in forums/youtube comments about the numerous benefits of replacing the original single phase motor (small-ish Metropolitan Vickers no less) with 3 phase VFD controlled. For starters: